cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution
Highlighted

How do I backup my whole website?

Hi community.

I ain't no website developer. I am an artist and I am the owner of a website. I had a website developer who built my WordPress website but we had to part ways. Now I'm about to hire someone else but before I give him access I would like to learn how to back up of my coding, credentials, link URLs, etc so that if someone tries to be "a bad person" and destroyed my website I have backup to restore it without losing the work. I have this fear that for some reason that could happen so you never know.

I am good with dealing with settings in general, but I am not a website developer. My goal is to totally backup my website. I really appreciate if someone wrote the steps to do that myself and told me everything I need to know about that on how this is possible and at what extend.

I would really appreciate it. I hope you're having a great day.

3 REPLIES 3
Super User III
Super User III
Solution

Re: How do I backup my whole website?

Hey there @evmaintenance,

First, standard industry practice is to maintain 3 separate backups. You may think that's overkill, but I've seen circumstances where none of the backups were viable, so it is important.

1st Backup: Should be done locally. There are a lot of ways to do this, but this blog gives you some good paths to take.

2nd Backup: Store one on the cloud. Whether you use Google Drive, OneDrive, or some other cloud based storage, use your control panel (cPanel, Plesk, etc.) to automatically run a backup and store it there.

3rd Backup: Use a service like GoDaddy's Website Backup. The benefit to this is that it can be your primary backup and has an easy, one-click restore feature. There are others out there but this one perfectly meshes with GoDaddy hosting. 

Should anything go wrong, it's highly doubtful that all three backups will be destroyed.